By John Thompson

A complete contrast to the previous glorious Saturday’s nail-biting finish as a draw was again the result but this time under leaden skies and with only the home team threatening to win.

This did not always like it would be the case as Risinghurst were reduced to 42-4 in the 10th over thanks to three quick wickets to ‘Joe’ Kelly (3-43). But “Risi” bat deep, and after a steadying of the ship, Rakesh Nambiar (47) and Romio Fernandes (130*) took the attack to the Mills’ change bowlers. The fifty and then the hundred partnership came and went, and when Rakesh was finally bowled the stand had reached 146 with Romio just short of his century. He soon went past that milestone and finished unbeaten on 130, including 17 fours and 4 sixes helping the team past 1000 runs in only the fourth ‘at bat’ of the season. One of Romio’s sixes was possibly the biggest hit seen at Grovelands Road for many a year and his fourth off the final ball of the innings was pure class as he carressed the ball down the ground and over the sightscreen.

Facing their highest chase of the season, Mills started brightly, but were never up with the rate and wickets fell regularly. But it was not until skipper Steve Holford went for 35, excellently caught and bowled low down by skipper Martin Kalyan, did Risinghurst look like they could win. John Thompson chipped away with two caught and bowled’s himself, finishing with 3-29, but thanks to stubborn resistance from Eric Martin (32*) and the rest of the lower order, Risinghurst were once again unable to force a win. They do move up a place to second though thanks to East Oxford 2 losing the only other unbeaten record in Division 6B.


Date Time League Season Result
June 19, 2021 1:00 pm Cherwell Cricket League –Division 6B 2021 Drawn




RCC 12425Drawn
Witney Mills 21628Drawn


Batting Dismissal Fielder Bowler Runs 4s 6s Ct
Martin Kalyan*CaughtHarry MorganSteve Kelly13201
Saurabh MehrotraCaughtSam MorganSteve Kelly9200
Lokeshwar BandhuBowled Andy Halliday2000
S M Mansoor Abbasi+LBW Steve Kelly16212
Rakesh NambiarBowled Andy Slater47410
Romio Fernandes Not Out  1301740
Gaurav SamuelNot Out  15000
Anand Venkatchalam SomasundaramDid Not Bat  0000
Abhay SinghDid Not Bat  0000
Aman KaushikDid Not Bat  0000
John ThompsonDid Not Bat  0002
Extras10 (b-5, lb-1, wd-3, nb-1)
Total   2482765

Did not bat: Anand Venkatchalam Somasundaram, Abhay Singh, Aman Kaushik, John Thompson

Bowling O M R W
Rakesh Nambiar121401
Aman Kaushik61261
Lokeshwar Bandhu121462
John Thompson91293
Martin Kalyan*60221

Witney Mills 2

Batting Dismissal Fielder Bowler Runs 4s 6s Ct
Matthew TaylorLBW Aman Kaushik7100
Steve HolfordCaughtMartin KalyanMartin Kalyan35400
Steve KellyBowled Rakesh Nambiar11200
Harry MorganCaughtJohn ThompsonJohn Thompson25400
Eric MartinNot Out  32400
Andy SlaterCaughtS M Mansoor AbbasiJohn Thompson1000
Anand SrinivasaraghavanLBW Lokeshwar Bandhu23400
Andy HallidayCaughtJohn ThompsonJohn Thompson4100
Peter PereiraCaughtS M Mansoor AbbasiLokeshwar Bandhu10200
Sam MorganNot Out  8100
Laurie O’NeillDid Not Bat  0000
Extras12 (b-2, lb-3, wd-4, nb-3)
Total   1682300

Did not bat: Laurie O’Neill

Bowling O M R W
Andy Halliday70431
Steve Kelly135433
Peter Pereira60300
Harry Morgan52180
Anand Srinivasaraghavan40250
Andy Slater60441
Laurie O’Neill40330